Scheduler simulation allows you to review proposed changes to a specific schedule without having to apply them. This feature allows you to temporarily save the simulated schedule and either apply it to the current project or cancel it if necessary. This feature is only available to users with Manager permission in the scheduler.
To take advantage of this feature, it must be activated in your environment. Contact your Aidi administrator or point of contact to request this.
First, make sure a project is set in the search bar.
- Click the Simulation button to enter the simulation mode.
- Select Start.
- A banner at the top of the scheduler page indicates that you are in simulation mode.
- A red padlock symbol in front of the first line of the schedule indicates that the schedule is locked for other users.
- A simulation-specific menu is added to the screen.
While in simulation mode, no changes can be made to the actual schedule. Other users have read-only access to the actual schedule for this project. A gray padlock indicates to users that someone is in simulation mode.
In simulation mode, you can modify the dates, dependencies and progress of existing tasks, as well as a number of other elements. You can also create new tasks and delete existing ones. The following task sections and functions are not available in simulation mode:
✏️Note: The following scheduler functions are also not available in simulation mode:
If you need to leave the page while in simulation mode, the Save File button lets you download your simulation in a format readable only by Aidi. You'll find the file with an .aidisim extension in your downloads.
✏️ Note: If you exit the scheduler page while in simulation mode, quit simulation mode, or log out of Aidi, your simulation will not be saved.
You can restore your simulation in Aidi using the Load a session button when the Simulation function is running.
⚠️ Warning: Restoration files only be saved temporarily. If you quit simulation mode, or if an Aidi update is deployed between the time you saved your simulation and the time you wish to restore it, importing your simulation will not be possible.
When your simulation is completed, you can replace your actual schedule with this new simulation by clicking on the Apply Changes button. Feel free to use the Set baseline feature to save your actual schedule as a baseline before applying the simulation.
If the simulation is not accepted in the end, you can cancel it.
⚠️ Warning: While in simulation mode, other users cannot perform any operations on the scheduler and are in read-only mode. Remember to exit simulation mode before disconnecting from Aidi.
To exit simulation mode, you must either Apply the changes or Cancel them, in which case your simulation will be deleted.